Edith Lester Harbin Department of Music - Shorter University

Conservatory-like Experience
Liberal Arts Education

Often described as the flagship of the university, the Music Department is well known throughout the Southeastern United States for its superior programs and direct one-on-one mentoring of students by professors.

Contact Us



Cooper Fine Arts 120

The Department of Music offers a conservatory-like experience within a traditional liberal arts institution—the best of both worlds. Our voice, piano, and organ students have consistently ranked at or near the top of regional and national competitions for many years. Furthermore, our music education majors are frequently sought after by prospective school systems before they reach graduation.

In addition to private study, Shorter music students all participate in departmental ensembles. The Shorter Chorale is an auditioned choir and recognized as one of the best ensembles in the region. Other ensembles include the Shorter Chorus and the new Javanese Gamelan Ensemble.

The Opera Theatre and Musical Theatre each produce two major works each academic year. The fall 2006 production of Sondheim’s Into the Woods was invited to compete at the annual America College Theater Festival, an honor they have earned the past four years. The accomplishments of our students and graduates demonstrate the success of our programs.

Meet Our Faculty

Dr. John Michael McCluskey
Interim Dean, School of Fine and Performing Arts and Tenured Associate Professor of Music
Dr. Timothy Renner
Chair of Theatre and Musical Theatre, Director of Opera, and Associate Professor of Voice
Dr. Dustin Burgess
Associate Professor of Music Education
Ms. Sue Gaukel
Associate Professor of Musical Theatre
Dr. Enoch Jacobus
Tenured Associate Professor of Music Theory
Dr. Yuman Lee
Associate Professor of Music
Dr. Bryan McDonald
Director of Choral Activities and Coordinator of Music and Worship Leadership
Ms. Amy Neal
Assistant Professor of Piano Pedagogy and Piano Class
Dr. John Reams
Provost and Professor of Music and Woodwinds
Dr. Jerico Vasquez
Chair, Edith Lester Harbin Department of Music, Professor of Music, and Coordinator of Keyboard Studies
Dr. Ronda Benson Ford
Instructor of Flute
Ms. Heather Frost
Staff Accompanist
Ms. Sandra Yeargan
Director of Preparatory Program
Dr. Lauren Denney Wright
Assistant Professor of Music and Director of Bands