State Authorizations - Shorter University

State Authorizations

Shorter University is currently authorized or is exempt from state regulations and permitted to accept students to all online/distance education programs in all 50 states.

As of April 1st, 2016, Shorter University has been approved by the Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission (GNPEC) to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA), a nationwide reciprocity agreement that grants approval for Shorter to conduct online education activities in member states. As of June 2017, Shorter University is permitted to accept students in all NC-SARA member states/providences, which are listed below:

Alabama Louisiana Ohio
Alaska Maine Oklahoma
Arizona Maryland Oregon
Arkansas Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
Delaware Mississippi South Dakota
District of Columbia Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska U.S. Virgin Islands
Hawai’i Nevada Utah
Idaho New Hampshire Vermont
Illinois New Jersey Virginia
Indiana New Mexico Washington
Iowa New York West Virginia
Kansas North Carolina Wisconsin
Kentucky North Dakota Wyoming

For more information on NC-SARA, please visit

Shorter University is also either approved, exempt, or not subject to approval to operate distance education in California based on a lack of physical location in those states or other state regulations. However, please note that online programs that require internships and practicums may require additional state authorization requirements in these states.

Please contact if you have any questions regarding program availability for your state/providence.

To file a student Complaint or Grievance, please use the following form:

Complaint Grievance Form