Pi Kappa Lambda


Dr. Aaron Rice, Advisor

The primary objective of PI KAPPA LAMBDA is the recognition and encouragement of the highest level of musical achievement and academic scholarship. The Society is convinced that, by recognizing and honoring persons who have enhanced their talents by serious, diligent, and intelligent study, others will be stimulated to do the same. Moreover, the Society feels that it serves the interest of the student capable of meeting its criteria by granting a charter to institutions that provide the atmosphere conducive to musical achievement and academic virtue.

PI KAPPA LAMBDA was organized in 1918 at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois with a charter granted by the State of Illinois.The first chapter, Alpha, elected as its first member Peter Christian Lutkin, Dean of the School of Music. His initials in their Greek equivalent – Pi Kappa Lambda – provided the name of the Society. There are more than 200 active chapters. In 1940 the Society of PI KAPPA LAMBDA was admitted to the Association of College Honor Societies as the representative in the field of music. The Epsilon Beta Chapter at Shorter University was established on April 25, 1981.

Student Inductees


Shorter University’s School of Fine and Performing Arts inducted three spring 2016 graduates into its chapter of the Pi Kappa Lambda honor society. Inductees were Ashley Phillips, Julian Duncan and Taylor Camp.

Left to right: Ashley Phillips, BM ’16, Julian Duncan, BM ’16, and Taylor Camp, BFA ’16


Pi Kappa Lambda inductees for 2015

Left to right: Gina Hicks, Alumni, Hannah Mitchell, BM ‘15, Ashley Poole, BM ‘15, Kaitlin Kennedy, BFA ‘15


Garrett Baker, BM ’14 & Diane Turner, BM ‘14

Left to right: Garrett Baker, BM ’14 & Diane Turner, BM ‘14


Pi Kappa Lambda Inductees 2013

Left to right: Mrs. Beth Taylor, Grace Wirabudi, BM ’14, Wendy Harrell, BFA ’13, Mrs. Julie Bearden-Carver


Pi Kappa Lambda Inductees 2012

Left to Right: Laura Leigh Beall, BM ’13, Sarah Weaver, BM ’12, Kristina Kennedy, BFA ’13, Emily Alderman, BM ’13, Susan Diesch, BM ’14, Mariel Villarreal, BFA ’12, Kate Johnson, BFA ’14, Sarah Justus, BM ’14, Annelise Kitching, BFA ’14


Pi Kappa Lambda Inductees 2011

Left to Right: Jennifer Diane Holcombe, BFA ’11, Chris Vizurraga, BFA ’12, Susanna Grace Polley, BM ’13, Chelsea Catherine Cross, BM ’12


Pi Kappa Lambda Inductees 2010

Left to Right: Elizabeth McCoy Telford, BFA ’11, Elizabeth Melinae MacDonell, BFA ’11


Pi Kappa Lambda Inductees 2009

Left to Right: Audrey Lane Crocker, BFA ‘10 , Laura Lee Gill, BFA ‘10, Hope Kristin Moore, BM ‘10, Emily Christine Tweedy, BM ‘11, Thomas Hobson Williams, BM ‘10, Kathrine Zaloumes, BFA ‘09

View inductees before 2009
Presidents of Pi Kappa Lambda


Amy Neal, MM Visiting Professor of Music Gamma Tau Chapter, Baylor University
Aaron Rice, DMA Assistant Professor of Music Beta Zeta, East Carolina State University
Yuman Lee, MM Assistant Professor of Music Eta, University of Southern California
John McCluskey, PhD Assistant Professor of Music Iota Epsilon, Lee University
Jerico Vasquez, DMA Associate Professor of Music Zeta Tau, University of Houston
Duane Warfield, PhD Assistant Professor of Music Alpha Phi, University of Iowa
Tara Warfield, DMA Assistant Professor of Music Theta Phi, Coe College
Alan Wingard, DMA Dean Emeritus, School of Fine & Performing Arts Alpha Pi, University of Alabama
Sandy Yeargan, MME Instructor of Music Epsilon Beta, Shorter University


Patricia DeWitt, PhD Professor Emeritus of Music Epsilon Beta, Shorter University
Peter DeWitt, DMA Professor Emeritus of Music Epsilon Beta, Shorter University
John Ramsaur, MM, DHL Professor Emeritus of Music Epsilon Beta, Shorter University
Helen Ramsaur, MM Professor Emeritus of Music Epsilon Beta, Shorter University
William Knight, MM Professor Emeritus of Music Epsilon Beta, Shorter University
Phoebe Pomeroy, MM Professor Emeritus of Music Epsilon Beta, Shorter University

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.