Shorter University Recognizes Student Accomplishment During Awards Day

Share Button

Shorter University’s Awards Day included the presentation of awards of distinction to seniors who excelled in their major areas.

Photo above: Leah-Joy Smith accepts the Outstanding Senior in English Award from Dr. Earl Kellett.

Dr. Heath Hooper, dean of Shorter’s Robert H. Ledbetter College of Business, presented awards to the following seniors:

  • Hannah Lambert, of Lilburn, Ga., Accounting Award
  • Laura Ayres, of Flintstone, Ga., Computer Information Systems Award
  • Alexa Moore, of Marietta, Ga., Economics Award
  • Stephen Corasaniti, of Monroe, Ga., General Business Award
  • Mark Green, of Lindale, Ga., Management Award
  • Maggie Sheffield, of McDonough, Ga., Marketing Award
  • Bruce Clark, of Dawsonville, Ga., Sport Management Award

Dr. Dana King, assistant professor of education, represented Shorter’s School of Education in presenting awards to the following seniors:

  • Emily Mays, of Dalton, Ga., Early Childhood Education Award
  • Breanna Landers, of Lindale, Ga., Middle Grades Education Award
  • Laura Whitlow, of Rome, Ga., Mathematics Education Award

Dr. John Reams, dean of the School of Fine and Performing Arts, presented awards to the following seniors:

  • Ruthie Phillips, of Hiram, Ga., Music Education Award
  • Meredith Howard, of Acworth, Ga., Music Performance Award
  • Jessica Pickard, of Chickamauga, Ga., Musical Theatre Award
  • Tim Mereus, of Douglasville, Ga., Theatre Award

Roxanne Johnston, dean of Shorter’s Ben and Ollie Brady School of Nursing, presented the Nursing Award to Kendall Johnson, of Chickamauga, Ga.

Dr. Earl Kellett, associate professor of Christian Studies and chair of the Christian Studies Department, represented Shorter’s College of Arts and Sciences in presenting awards to the following students:

  • Erin Nordman, of Newnan, Ga., Biology Award
  • Arnold Mutuse, of Richmond, Ky., Chemistry Award
  • Abbey Jacks, of Winston, Ga., Christian Studies Award
  • Ashtin Hyde, of Rome, Ga., Communication Arts Award
  • Jonathan Maxwell, of McDonough, Ga., Criminal Justice Award
  • Luke Green, of Calhoun, Ga., Ecology and Field Biology Award
  • Leah-Joy Smith, of Rome, Ga., English Award
  • Jordan Heath, of Donalsonville, Ga., History Award
  • Laura Ayres, of Flintstone, Ga., Honors Academy Award
  • William Lawson, of Washington, Ga., Interdisciplinary Studies Award
  • Destiny Kerr-Brown, of Rome, Ga., Liberal Arts Award
  • Tabea Kirchner, of Dettingen, Germany, Mathematics Award
  • Madelyn Anderson, of Milton, Fla., Natural Science Award
  • Anthony Nordman, of Newnan, Ga., Political Science Award
  • Stephanie Marrero, of Irondale, Ala., Psychology Award
  • Kathryn Walker, of Newnan, Ga., Spanish Award

See a gallery of photos from the event.


Founded in 1873, Shorter University is a Christ-centered, four-year liberal arts university committed to excellence in education. The Princeton Review annually includes Shorter on its list of best Southeastern Colleges. The university offers traditional bachelor’s degrees in 40 areas of study, online courses and degree programs, undergraduate programs for working adults, and master’s programs. Learn more about Shorter at